MEANTIME: THE KNOWLEDGE

We let the lovely Leanne from the bar take over our blog as she took part in the Meantime Knowledge one day course and she wanted to tell as many people as possible about her day. #TetleyBlogTakeover.

When I heard we were holding a competition for The Tetley bar team, and whoever won would get to go to a Meantime master class I was so ready to win, one because it’s Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 18.56.46delicious Meantime and two because I have a hidden competitive streak, and the day
definitely lived up to my hopes. Lots of beer, lots of knowledge and lots of great people. The ridiculous amount of beer knowledge, not just about Meantime, was absolutely insane – even as someone who works in a bar and loves drink, I felt like an excited kid in the shop of beer knowledge! It was so interesting to learn all about the process of brewing, learn about the various different beers and ultimately, taste some beautiful products. We were even bought a lunch that came as a nice surprise, I was overly excited by this and it was delicious.
Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 18.51.05The products we got to try were all amazing, I even enjoyed the stout and I really don’t like stout at all! I especially enjoyed the ruby red ale called Yakima Red, which the lovely gentleman leading the master class said had always been his favourite even before he worked for Meantime. Another product that was absolutely awesome that I have never tried before was the Chocolate Porter, it’s just dessert in a drink. It had lovely coffee notes as well, and to me it had an aftertaste of a lovely espresso martini. If you can get your hands on a bottle, (I was told by them it’s pretty difficult), I’d definitely recommend it.

The whole day was so much fun, it was such a nice relaxed atmosphere and I’d definitely go again. I think my favourite fact of the whole day was that the phrase ‘getting plastered’ comes from the fact that certain water used for making beer was around limestone, and some of the chalky residue would be in the water and then technically in the beer, hence, getting plastered. That’s the best way I could describe it in Leanne language, I hope I’ve done Meantime proud with that explanation and thank you for a fantastic day!

We think that Meantime: The Knowledge makes the perfect gift or team day for all those that want to share in a passion for all things beer or want to learn about the brewing process. If you would like to get more information on Meantime: The Knowledge and how to book a place, please contact our reception on 0113 320 2323. 

Not just a Bar and Kitchen

Leave a Reply

